Monday, 23 April 2012

Money Monday

So this week I signed the Debt Free Life Pledge over at and then she saved, because I've been struggling with money and my debt since 2008, over that time I have paid off over $5K in credit card debt only have it balloon out to its current state of $9K. That I can no longer live with so I signed the pledge and I'm posting about it here to hold myself accountable for my own debt. I created it by wanting the newest shiniest iphone and macbook, by thinking that putting something on my credit card was like paying for it myself, its NOT!
So I'm signed up and committed that over the next year I will only buy things I need, instead of just what I want, so to get me started here is a list of my definite needs.

  • Car payments and insurance, petrol - $150 per week, (my new car is justified because it cost me $50 to fill and a full tank lasts me at least a week and half if not two, compared to my old car that cost me $70-85 to fill and only lasted for a week at a stretch)
  • Food - $70 a week , no more eating out or trips to Nando's before the movies, well no more trips to the movies actually which may be the hardest sacrifice of them all as it is a big part of my socialisation and generally a weekly or twice weekly occurrence, but I'm going to save that $16 and put it to better use. Also no more buying my lunch from at work, my daily food budget is going to be $10 for 3 meals a day which may be the biggest struggle as I love good for but the kicker is I also love cooking, so if I plan out my shopping and cooking I can use my days off to make lunch for my working days.
  • Board - $80 per week or 6 hours work, recently I have been working for my parents in lieu of paying board, and as much as I hope this can continue I feel guilty of the weeks when I do less than 5 hours which is what covers my board.
  • Phone Bill $30 per week, this is a need as I have already signed the 2 year contract that doesn't expire until Feb 2013, and also the boy lives 2 hours away so the phone is our lifeline especially since the no entertainment budget and limited car usage will mean that we get to see each other less. 
So those are my needs, I'm sure things will come along that will challenge this list but that is what I am to spend per week, and I if I'm successful then I will be able to pay of at least $70 per week of my debt. I'm aiming for more and actively searching for a second or higher paying job that will be solely used to pay down my debt with my current job being used for expenses.
Would one of these be nice?
So this is the plan, wish me luck because I'm going to need it!



  1. Awesome! 9k is not that bad -- you can knock that down in a year! Best of luck to you

  2. That's a great deal paid off! I need to work on paying off debt too. Spending freezes are so hard!